The Inaugural NFL Honors To Air Super Bowl Eve

January 3, 2012

On the Eve of the biggest night in the NFL, the Super Bowl, the very first NFL Honors will be broadcast on NBC February 4th from 9:00 to 11:00 p.m. (EST). The two hour show will honor the top players and performances from the 2011 season.

NFL Honors

Why haven’t they done this before? What a great idea! The event will be hosted by Alec Baldwin, and Lenny Kravitz will be on hand to provide the musical entertainment. Just like any other awards show, there will be red carpet coverage, airing from 8:00 to 9:00 p.m. EST on the NFL Network.

While current players will be in attendance to what will surely be an unforgettable night, some former players will make an appearance as well, notably Deion Sanders, Jerry Rice, Steve Young, Shannon Sharpe and Barry Sanders, just to name a few.

As you can see from the list below, seven of the awards are from the AP. Those are voted by a nationwide panel (comprised of 50 people in the media) at the end of the season.

AP Most Valuable Player
Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year
AP Coach of the Year presented by XFINITY, only from Comcast
AP Comeback Player of the Year presented by Van Heusen
AP Offensive Player of the Year presented by Castrol
AP Defensive Player of the Year
AP Offensive Rookie of the Year presented by Pepsi Max
AP Defensive Rookie of the Year presented by Pepsi Max
Pepsi Rookie of the Year
Fantastic Finish of the Year Fantasy Player of the Year presented by Papa John’s
Play of the Year presented by Bridgestone
Madden Most Valuable Protectors Award presented by Prilosec OTC
Salute To Service Award Presented by USAA
Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year Award

Who is deserving of the awards above? Leave me your picks in the comments section, let’s discuss!

« Previous Next »
Bookmark and Share

Comments are closed.