Kentucky Derby 2010 Contenders (Photos, Video)

April 27, 2010


Finally the Kentucky Derby has arrived, in just days we will be able to appreciated this magnificent animals give spectators something to really yelled about, But Who are the Kentucky Derby 2010 contenders this year? Who are the jockeys? Keep reading to know the details about this great event and don’t miss the photos and video below.

Kentucky Derby 1

The horses are ready along with their jockeys to give the race of their lives and the bets are almost on the table for the Kentucky Derby’s 136th event on May 1st. You can watch it on NBC or if you are ready to experience it on the wild side you can join us since we will be covering the event via live feed, so bookmark this page!

The Kentucky Derby is the oldest sporting event in our lovely country, and one of the oldest Thoroughbred horse races since the 1875 Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky. It gave its first race to over 10,000 spectators and 15 three year old horses that for sure gave the best they had, but the Derby was not just for guys. In 1915 a woman named Laska Durnell owned a colt horse named Regret who won the race.

Eskedereya was a favorite and strong horse to win the Derby, but it seems that a swollen leg got him scratched from the race and will not be back. Who would take his place at favorite now?

Last year’s Kentucky Derby was won by Mine That Bird ridden by Calvin Borel and trained by Chip Woolley Jr. and now let’s take a look at this updated Kentucky Derby 2010 Contenders list.

Horse Jockey Trainer

American Lion

David Flores

Eoin Harty

Awesome Act

Julien Leparoux

Jeremy Noseda


Martin Garcia

Bob Baffert

Dean’s Kitten

Cornelio Velazquez

Michael Maker

Devil May Care

John Velazquez

Tod Pletcher

Discreetly Mine

Javier Castellano

Todd Pletcher


Terry Thompson

D. Wayne Lukas


Robby Albarado

Shannon Ritler


Richard Dutrow Jr.

Ice Box

Mike Smith

Nicholas Zito

Jackson Bend

Calvin Borel

Nicholas Zito


Rafael Bejarano

Todd Pletcher

Line of David

Rafael Bejarano

John Sadler

Make Music For Me

Alexia Barba

Mission Impazible

Rajiv Maragh

Todd Pletcher

Noble’s Promise

Willy Martinez

Kenneth Mcpeek


Richard Mandella

Paddy O’ Prado

Kent Desomeaux

Dale Romans

Sidney’s Candy

Joe Talamo

John Sadler

Super Saver

Calvin Borel

Todd Pletcher

Lookin At Lucky

Garrett Gomez Bob Baffert

So there you have it, the Kentucky Derby 2010 contenders, are you ready? What do you think about these horses? Do you have any favorites?

We will be waiting for you at our live coverage, don’t Miss It! Now take a look at these photos and at the video below.

Kentucky Derby PhotoKentucky Derby picture

2010 Kentucky Derby Video
Photos:, Michael Carpenter, Brian McEvoy, Thomas Faehnrich
« Previous Next »
Bookmark and Share

Comments are closed.