Tiger Woods Wins PGA Tour Player of The Year

December 20, 2009

Tiger Woods was named on Friday Player of the Year at the PGA Tour, with the vote of the other golfers, to get recognition for the tenth time in his 13 year career. Keep reading for the rest of this news plus Photos and Video Below.

Tiger Woods POY

Despite the scandal and his indefinite retirement from the sport, the best golfer in the world was honored by the Golf Writers Association of America. On Friday, Tiger’s colleagues showed their support and admiration for the incredible golfer that he is, setting aside the scandals of his private life, naming him PGA Tour Player of the Year while The PGA Tour does not reveal vote totals.

Tiger Woods was voted best player of the year by the PGA Tour, surpassing by a landslide margin to Steve Stricker in a vote where a majority of participants spoke out after the golfer was plunged in a sex scandal. It is the 10th time Woods wins in his 13 years as a professional golfer.

The rookie Jiyai Shin of American LPGA Tour, was voted as the best golfer of the year, defeating Mexico’s Lorena Ochoa, Marc Leishman of Australia was voted PGA Tour rookie of the year; while Loren Roberts won the distinction as the best veteran.
Woods, who missed eight months of action to undergo knee surgery, returned to harvest six wins on the PGA U.S. Tour. He won the FedEx Cup, with the title of most profitable and the Vardon Trophy, the golfer with the lowest stroke average.

He received 168 votes (84%), while Stricker had 20 and YE Yang scored 13. Voting for this award started three days before Woods’ car accident near his home in Florida, which unleashed a series of problems at the end of which, the best golfer the world had to admit that he had been unfaithful to his wife Elin, followed with a long list of alleged mistresses.

Less than half of the votes were issued before the road accident on 27 November. The vote closed on 11 December, the day Woods announced that he would move away from golf indefinitely, seeking to save his marriage. During the two weeks, it did not change the trend of voting.
Shin South Korea’s won three tournaments and was named Rookie of the Year on the LPGA. She also had a chance to win the award for player of the year until she beat Ochoa by one point in a race that was settled until the final round of the LPGA Tour Championship.

Shin won the title of most profitable and was second in scoring average. She received 105 votes (52%) against 85 of the Mexican and 11 American Cristie Kerr.
Players will be recognized on April 7 in Augusta, Georgia, during the annual dinner of the Association.

Tiger Woods POY 2009Tiger Woods POY 09Tiger Woods PIC

Check out some photos here and the video below.

Tiger Woods Tribute Video

Photos": WENN/ Harrison, Adriana M. Barraza / WENN, PNP / WENN, WENN, www.WENN.com.

« Previous Next »
Bookmark and Share

Comments are closed.