Was Tiger Woods fined? According to Tiger, he he won’t be fined by the PGA Tour for comments he made regarding a rules official after his Bridgestone Invitational win on Sunday. Read more about the story plus photos and video below.
The Associated Press ran with the story on Monday, claiming an anonymous source said Woods would be fined for criticizing John Paramour, a rules official who placed Woods and Padraig Harrington on the clock on the 16th hole. The two were reportedly 17 minutes behind the group ahead of them.
Prior to being put on the clock, Harrington was one shot ahead of Tiger. It went downhill from there, as he suffered a triple bogey on the 16th and the Irishman never regained the lead. Woods said on Sunday, “I don’t understand why we were put on the clock, I’m sorry John got in the way of a great battle.”
And Woods maintained today:
“We were the only two in contention to win the event. We had separated ourselves (from the other players on the leader board). The winner was not going to come from the groups ahead. Unfortunately, I guess we had to finish by 6 o’clock. I guess that was important. You know, we finished three minutes late, I think it was.”
What do you think folks? Should Tiger Woods have been fined? Leave me your comments!
More photos and video of Tiger Woods below.
Tiger Woods Video
Photos: PNP/WENN, Carrie Devorah/WENN, Daniel Deme/WENN, www.wenn.com