McFadden Wins Doak Walker Award

December 8, 2006

Darren McFadden

Arkansas tailback Darren McFadden picked up some momentum heading into this Saturday’s Heisman Trophy Presentation. He won the Doak Walker Award Thursday day night at the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards in Orlando, Florida.

The sophomore running back beat out Michigan’s Mike Hart and West Virginia’s Steve Slayton to take home the coveted award.

McFadden is the first Arkansan to win the award in its 16 year history. It’s given to the best running back in the country.

Reggie Bush took home the honors last year.

The award is named after three-time SMU All-American running back and Heisman trophy winner Doak Walker.

McFadden set a school record this year with over 1,500 yards rushing. He scored 16 touchdowns to help lead the Razorbacks to the SEC West title and the SEC Conference title game.

McFadden is one of three finalists for the Heisman Trophy this year, along with Troy Smith, quarterback of Ohio State University and Brady Quinn of Notre Dame.

The Razorbacks earned a trip to the Capital One Bowl game on January 1 in Orlando where they will face the Wisconsin Badgers.

Thanks to Todays THV Channel 11-Little Rock

Next »
Bookmark and Share

Comments are closed.