Home Run Derby 2009 Participants

July 13, 2009

Here is the Home Run Derby 2009 list of participants. Read more about the story plus see photos and video below.

Home Run Derby 2009 is upon us yet again, and we have the full list of participants this year below.

The event will start at 8:00 PM EST on ESPN.

The Home Run Derby participants are as follows:

National League
Albert Pujols – St. Louis Cardinals,
Prince Fielder – Milwaukee Brewers
Adrian Gonzalez – San Diego Padres
Ryan Howard – Philadelphia Phillies

American league
Carlos Pena – Tampa Bay Rays
Brandon Inge – Detroit Tigers
Nelson Cruz – Texas Rangers
Joe Mauer – Minnesota Twins

Carlos Pena was said to be excited about the Derby, saying:

“I just want to be in it. I just want to go over there and have a good time. … Whether I win it or come in dead last, I just want the full experience.”

Pena replaces Dustin Pedroia, who withdrew from the All-Star game to be wtih his wife, Kelli Pedroia, who is suffering from complications after going into premature labor in her seventh month of pregnancy.

The Home Run Derby dates back to 1985, marking this year as the 25th anniversary of the popular event during All-Star festivities.

See video of last year’s Home Run Derby below.

Home Run Derby – Video
« Previous Next »
Bookmark and Share

Comments are closed.