Ohio State’s Troy Smith Is The 2006 Heisman Trophy Winner

December 9, 2006

Dec. 9 (Bloomberg) — Ohio State quarterback Troy Smith won the Heisman Trophy as college football’s top player, the record- tying seventh time a Buckeye has captured the sport’s most prestigious individual honor.

Smith, who led the Buckeyes to an undefeated season and a berth in the national championship game, beat Notre Dame quarterback Brady Quinn and Arkansas running back Darren McFadden in balloting by a nationwide media panel and former winners.

A senior, Smith passed for 2,507 yards with 30 touchdowns and five interceptions for Ohio State (12-0). The top-ranked Buckeyes will meet No. 2 Florida for the national title Jan. 8.

Smith threw for 316 yards and four touchdowns as Ohio State beat then-No. 2 Michigan 42-39 on Nov. 18 to clinch the Big Ten Conference championship and earn a berth in the title game. The Cleveland native beat the archrival Wolverines three straight years, the first Buckeyes quarterback in 70 yards to accomplish the feat. He passed for 857 yards and seven touchdowns in those wins.

Ohio State’s seventh Heisman Trophy matches Notre Dame and Southern California for most since the award began in 1935. Les Horvath (1944), Vic Janowicz (1950), Howard Cassady (1955), Archie Griffin (1974 and 1975) and Eddie George (1995) are the other Buckeyes to win the honor.

Next »
Bookmark and Share

One Response to “Ohio State’s Troy Smith Is The 2006 Heisman Trophy Winner”

  1. 1
    Sports Blog Announcement » Right Pundits Says:

    […] The American Conservative -Nicole Richie DUI Video-Beyonce Knowles Wardrobe Malfunction-Angelina is Free, Boys-Fake Name Duel-Shakira Live!-Manuela Arcuri Undressed -Sound Off (Open Thread)-Troy Smith Ships Heisman Trophy Back Home-Jermain “Bad Intentions” Taylor Retains His Title In N. Little Rock, AR-Ohio State’s Troy Smith Is The 2006 Heisman Trophy Winner-2006-07 Bowl Schedule-Joe’s Bowl Game Predictions […]