Usain Bolt Is Media Athlete Of The Year 2008

January 2, 2009

Jamaican sprinter and three-time Olympic champion Usain Bolt has been awarded the title of ‘Media Athlete of the Year 2008′ for his record-breaking performance in the Beijing Olympics. He beat swimmer Michael Phelps, who won eight golds in the Olympics, to take the top honor. Russian pole-vault queen Yelena Isinbayeva was the winner in the female category.

Usain Bolt 3

Usain Bolt

The IAAF Male Athlete for 2008, who established world records of 9.69secs and 19.30secs in the 100 and 200 meters before sharing in the new mark of 37.10secs in the 4x100m relay, polled 32.5 per cent of the votes or 1,673 points as against Phelps, who received 30.24 per cent or 1,557 points.

Isinbayeva was undefeated in all the events she participated in and set multiple world records in her quest to win the Olympic gold and other major events.

Spanish soccer team was chosen as the Best Team of the Year 2008 for their title-winning performance at the European Championships. The team earned 1,395 points to beat Jamaica’s sprint relay team, soccer club Manchester United and U.S. National Basketball Team for the title.

Media journalists from 96 nations were included the jury panel for the prestigious awards.

More photos and a video of Usain Bolt are below.

Usain Bolt 1 Usain Bolt 2 1
Usain Bolt Photos

Usain Bolt Video

Photos: WENN

« Previous Next »
Bookmark and Share

Comments are closed.