India Wins Border-Gavaskar Trophy

November 10, 2008

India beat Australia by 172 runs in the fourth and final test match in Nagpur to win the Border-Gavaskar trophy. The team won the test series 2-0.

While Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was all praise for his team’s performance, rival captain Ricky Ponting was obviously frustrated. Australian team is ranked No.1 in the world and is said to be the ‘Invincibles’. This loss is as big as the one they had to the hands of England in the 2005 series.

“We didn’t play well. Indian spinners were very good and we failed to make big scores,” said Ponting.

It all started with India making 441 runs in the first innings riding on the performances by Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly. Australia made 355 in reply and also bowled out India for 295 in the second innings. Spinner Jason Krejza bagged 12 wickets in his debut test match and won the Man Of The Match award. Chasing a target of 382 runs, Australia failed to capitalize on a good start and fell to the bowling of Harbhajan Singh and Amit Mishra. The team could make just 209 runs.

Pacer Ishant Sharma won the Man Of The Series award for his exceptional bowling performance.

The test match was also very important as it was the last international cricket match for two of India’s greatest players. Leg spinner Anil Kumble, who is India’s biggest wicket taker and batsman Sourav Ganguly, who is India’s most successful captain, took retirement following the series.

This is India’s first series win against Australia since 2001.

More photos and a video of India-Aus Series are below.

India-Aus Series Video
« Previous Next »
Bookmark and Share

Comments are closed.